EcoJarz REVIEW: canning jar drink tops

eco jarz review

EcoJarz: canning jar drink tops

Canning jars in general have recently been making a big comeback – people are using them for all kinds of things other than canning. One such use, of course, is as a drinking glass, and EcoJarz provides some great ways to convert your canning jars into hip and happening drink holders. The EcoJarz motto is No BPA, Phthalates or Chemical Leach, so all of their drinktops are stainless steel or silicone.

I had the opportunity to try out both the stainless steel drinktop and the silicone drinktop,
which are both available for small mouth and wide mouth jars. I found both to be very easy to use, and sit nice and snug with a jar band over top. The only real difference between the 2 is preference, in terms of function. The one extra thing about the stainless steel drinktop is that it has a little silicone ring that goes around its edge to provide a nice tight seal between jar and jar band, so it has an extra part when compared to the purely silicone drinktops.

EcoJarz carries nice stainless steel straws with a little bend in them that fit nicely in the hole on both drinktops. These straws are shiny, smooth and well-made! The straw cleaner you can get with it is perfect and cleans well even with the bent stainless steel straw.

If you’re not a fan of stainless steel straws (I myself prefer glass straws because I like SEEING my drink go up the straw!), EcoJarz now also carries glass straws that fit with all of their drinktops. (I have a glass straw from somewhere else that was too fat for the hole on the EcoJarz drinktops, so I’m happy to see that they offer glass straws that DO fit!)

They also have a cute stainless steel tea infuser basket that can latch onto their drinktop so you won’t lose it in your jar. Hot drinks and cold drinks in your canning jars – sweet!

And now – GIVEAWAY TIME! I am so excited that EcoJarz is providing 3 prize packages for 3 lucky winners of this giveaway!! Each winner will receive:

  • One Tea Infuser
  • One Stainless Steel Straw with Cleaner
  • One Silicone Small Mouth Lid
  • One Stainless Small Mouth Lid
  • One Silicone Wide Mouth Lid
  • One Stainless Steel Wide Mouth Lid

You’ll be totally set for your whole family to enjoy EcoJarz! Giveaway open to residents of Canada and the USA.


I hope this EcoJarz review helps you decide if you want to give them a try!


(Disclosure: provided me with a sample of their products to write this review. No other compensation was received, and the opinions in this review are entirely my own.)


  1. January 7, 2014    

    Wide mouth! I would love to win, thanks!! :)

  2. January 7, 2014    

    We drink out of small mason jars and I’ve always wanted to try these lids. They’re so cool!

  3. Linda G. Linda G.
    January 10, 2014    

    Wide mouth! Thanks!

  4. Lesley Turudic Lesley Turudic
    January 10, 2014    

    Love my mason jars for smoothies and juices. These lids would be perfect!

  5. Susan Susan
    January 10, 2014    

    I would love to try this! I only have plastic cups right now.

  6. Jessica Rodriguez Jessica Rodriguez
    January 10, 2014    

    Wise mouth! :)

  7. Melissa Melissa
    January 10, 2014    

    I use both, wide mouth are easy to eat my salad and yogurt out of and small mall I use to drink from! I’ve seen these jar lids on instagram and would love to try them! My dad has been drinking from mason jars since I can remember!

  8. January 10, 2014    

    We like regular mouth jars to drink out of and have tried both the stainless steel and silicone from EcoJarz. One plus to the silicone: you can use them for hot drinks which wins in January.

  9. Vanessa Palomo Vanessa Palomo
    January 10, 2014    

    I love their products and I would love to win.

  10. Nilo Mohammad Nilo Mohammad
    January 10, 2014    

    I don’t know….. I like them both I guess. It depends on what I’m drinking at that moment. And if I’m really thirsty or not.
    I’ve always wanted to try the eco jarz but shipping to the Netherlands is insanely expensive and me being a collage student and needing almost every penny I own for college, I haven’t had the money to put apart and buy them….. so I really really really REALLY hope I win!!!

    • January 10, 2014    

      Thanks for your comment! Unfortunately this giveaway is only open to US and Canada residents this time around. I’m sure the EcoJarz people will love to know that they have international fans!

  11. Jodi M Jodi M
    January 10, 2014    

    Wide mouth, all the way!

  12. Lisa Lisa
    January 10, 2014    

    These lids are so cool! I would really love to win.

  13. Fiona Fiona
    January 10, 2014    

    I would love to win this, as I have only just heard about you(I live in Australia). I love the idea of drinking out of a jar with a stainless steel jar. The health benefits that go along with that. I’m a big glass jar fan. You’re Ecojarz are so cool. Looking forward to getting some as soon as I can :-).

    • January 10, 2014    

      Thanks for your comment! Unfortunately this giveaway is only open to US and Canada residents this time around. I’m sure the EcoJarz people will love to know that they have international fans!

  14. April b April b
    January 10, 2014    

    Love this

    • april b april b
      January 10, 2014    

      Wide mouth.

  15. Maggie Maggie
    January 10, 2014    

    I am more of a small mouth kind of gal.

  16. sailingtotem sailingtotem
    January 14, 2014    

    We keep things extra simple with widemouth sizes for everything on our boat/home: these will help us get eve more mileage out of jars!

  17. sidra sidra
    January 17, 2014    

    so excited. Really want these :) and start making amazing drinks

  18. Claudia Morillon Claudia Morillon
    January 19, 2014    

    Wide mouth! 😛

  19. January 21, 2014    

    Would love to try these to have for my water and essential oils! :)

  20. Jackie G Jackie G
    January 21, 2014    

    Wide mouth size fan!

  21. January 22, 2014    

    I found you because I am trying to answer the wide mouth/ narrow mouth question… which has been reminding me a lot of the wide mouthed frog joke.. do you know it?
    So anyway, hope to try both, maybe I will get lucky in your prize draw!

    • January 22, 2014    

      p.s I just went to add your blog (I really like your blog!) to my FEEDLY rss reader, and it had trouble finding you, which is weird because its is usually great with wordpress, I had to type in, which I found only because I am a persistent nerd, you might want to add that info to your connect/follow sidebar?

      • January 23, 2014    

        Thanks for your comment Joan! I appreciate the feedback. I will look into it!

  22. January 23, 2014    

    I am definitely a wide mouth jar kind of gal.

  23. SueSueper SueSueper
    February 3, 2014    

    I think wide mouth :-)

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Judith. I'm passionate about green, toxin-free, healthy living. I share my journey and experiences on Juicy Green Mom so you can feel empowered, enlightened, and inspired to make educated eco-friendly product and lifestyle choices.

Get a monthly digest email!


the organic box ad